New Measures For Foreigners

New Measures For Foreigners

Thailand’s Centre for Covid-19 Situation Administration (CCSA) has approved new measures for foreigners arriving in Thailand, reopening three more Sandbox destinations – Krabi, Phang-Nga, and Surat Thani (only Koh Samui, Koh Pha-ngan, and Koh Tao) – in addition to Phuket.


Since 11th January, 2022, international travellers have been permitted to travel to Thailand under the Sandbox programme, and can choose to undergo their mandatory 7-day stay in either Krabi, Phang-Na, Phuket, or Surat Thani (only Ko Samui, Ko Pha-ngan, and Ko Tao).


However, all travellers must make sure that they arrange and have all documentation in order before applying for the Sandbox Thailand Pass. This can include, but is not limited to, a vaccination certificate, a pre-arrival negative RT-PCR test result, prepaid 7-night’s accommodation in an approved hotel, prepaid RT-PCR tests for when in Thailand, and an insurance policy with coverage no less than US$50,000.


New Measures For Foreigners
People wanting to travel to Thailand are advised to have all their documentation in order before applying for their Thailand Pass.


Travellers must stay at least the first seven nights within a Sandbox destination if planning to continue the journey to other destinations in Thailand. If staying less than seven nights, the traveller must leave Thailand to another country immediately.


Restrictions Lifted For Arrivals From African Countries


Also from 11th January, 2022, the CCSA approved the lifting of travel restrictions on arrivals from African countries. This means travellers from Africa will be allowed to apply for the Thailand Pass under either the Sandbox programme or the Alternative Quarantine system.


New TEST & GO Thailand Pass applications remain suspended until further notice. The CCSA also approved the measure to maintain temporary suspension of the Thailand Pass system for new registrations under the Exemption from Quarantine (TEST & GO).


Entry measures for travellers who have obtained their Thailand Pass QR code before 22nd December, 2021, with scheduled arrival dates in Thailand from 24th December, 2021, onwards, are currently under review by the CCSA. The TAT Newsroom will provide updates via its website as soon as the official information becomes available.


Alternatively, travellers who are currently planning to enter Thailand can apply for the Thailand Pass under either the Sandbox programme or the Alternative Quarantine system.


New Measures For Foreigners
The three new Sandbox location ensure many of the southern islands remain open to visitors.


The CCSA also approved the measure to maintain the designation of 26 “Blue Zone” provinces with pilot tourist destinations. However, stringent health and safety guidelines will be introduced.


New Measures For Foreigners – Blue Zone Destinations


Central Region: Bangkok, and Ayutthaya (Mueang district only), Kanchanaburi, Nonthaburi, Pathum Thani, Phetchaburi (Cha-Am district only), Prachuap Khiri Khan (Mueang, Hua Hin, and Nong Kae districts only) and Samut Prakan (Suvarnabhumi Airport only).


Eastern Region: Chanthaburi (only for Mueang and Tha Mai districts), Chon Buri (only for Bang Lamung, Ko Si Chang, Pattaya, and Si Racha districts, and only Bang Sarey and Na Jomtien subdistricts in Sattahip district), Rayong (only for Ko Samet) and Trat (only for Ko Chang and Ko Kut districts).


Northern Region: Chiang Mai (Mueang, Chom Thong, Doi Tao, Mae Rim, and Mae Taeng districts only) and Chiang Rai (Mueang, Chiang Khong, Chiang Saen, Mae Chan, Mae Fah Luang, Mae Sai, Phan, Thoeng, Wiang Kaen and Wiang Pa Pao districts only).


Northeastern Region: Buri Ram (Mueang district only), Khon Kaen (Mueang, Khao Suan Kwang, Poei Noi, Phon, Phu Wiang, and Ubolratana districts only), Loei (Chiang Khan district only), Nakhon Ratchasima (Mueang, Chaloem Phra Kiat, Chok Chai, Pak Chong, Phimai, Sikhio, and Wang Nam Khiao districts), Nong Khai (Mueang, Si Chiang Mai and Tha Bo districts only), Surin (Mueang and Tha Tum districts only) and Udon Thani (Mueang, Ban Dung, Kumphawapi, Na Yung, Prachaksilpakhom and Nong Han districts only).


Southern Region: Krabi, Phang-Nga, Phuket, Ranong (Ko Phayam only) and Surat Thani (Ko Samui, Ko Pha-ngan and Ko Tao only).


For more information on entry into Thailand schemes, click here.



Source: TAT.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.